Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Ultimate Smashed Potatoes

These Ultimate Smashed Potatoes are my go to mashed potatoes.  They are so rich and creamy that they don't even need gravy!  Plus they are cow moo free :)



Ultimate Smashed Potatoes

3 lbs Red Potatoes or Yukon Golds
8 cloves garlic, smashed
1 stick of vegan butter alternative
1 12 oz can evaporated goat's milk
salt and pepper


Cut the potatoes up into small dice.  Be sure to leave the skin on!
Smash the garlic to remove the skins.
Place the potatoes and the garlic in a pot of cold water.
Season with salt and pepper.
Bring to the boil and cook until the potatoes are tender.
Meanwhile melt the butter alternative and bring the goat's milk up to temperature.  Do not boil!
Drain the potatoes and garlic.
Mash the potatoes and garlic slightly.
Add the warmed butter alternative and goat's milk to the potato mixture.
Continue mashing until you reach the desired consistency.  We like ours on the lumpy side.
Taste and add salt and pepper as desired.

12 comments:

  1. Nice recipe. It must be difficult to eat happy and gluten free. I see you have figured it out, impressive!

    ReplyDelete
  2. What sort of a butter alternative do you use? If you use goat milk you should try goat butter extra yummy. I will be making these, maybe with some goat cheese added in to!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love these potatoes and I do various things to "spice" them up too! Various types of goat cheese add real decadence to them when the mood strikes. Chives are another lovely addition as is fresh dill. Stirring in some crispy bacon is my husbands idea of heaven. Really their are an almost unlimited number of versions :)
    I use any one of the following as my "butter" Blue Bonnet Light Margarine Sticks, Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks, or I measure out 1/2 cup of Smart Balance Light Buttery Spread Original with Flax.
    The evaporated goat's milk gives it a slightly cheesy taste to me already.... We don't have a source for goat's milk butter or I would try it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I put the garlic in with my potatoes too! It makes such a difference! This sounds delicious!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments so please let me know what you think!