Monday, September 13, 2010

Gallon Jar Refrigerator Bread & Butter Pickles

This is a simple bread & butter style pickle that requires no canning!  These pickles will stay good for up to a year if they stick around that long.



Pickling cucumbers, sliced
2 sweet onions, sliced
6 cups sugar
4 cups vinegar
1/2 cup canning and pickling salt
1 tbs tumeric
1 tsp mustard seed
1 tbs celery seed

Pack the sliced pickles and onions tightly into a gallon jar with a tight fitting lid.
Combine the sugar, salt, and vinegar in a pot and heat to dissolve.
Add the spices to the jar.
Pour the liquid into the jar.
Cover and refrigerate.

16 comments:

  1. I just bought pickling cucumbers off my dollar rack over the weekend. I put them in my downstairs fridge, but somehow the thermostat went too low and the froze - so sad!

    Yours sound delicious - love that you don't have to can them!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm going to try these Stephanie. My dad loves sweet pickles. Thanks for sharing this.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Just tried my first refrigerator pickling this week. Wax beans and peppers. Can't wait to see how they turned out. I guess I could be really brave and try real pickles too. How long do you wait for these? My recipe says 3 weeks. Seems like forever.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Honestly they start to be tasty after even 24 hours... However, they are better if you wait a least a week!

    ReplyDelete
  5. How long do these stay safe in the fridge Stephanie?

    ReplyDelete
  6. S Lofgren - So long as they don't have mold or smell and taste off they should be fine. Honestly we eat them up pretty quickly tho!! For best results eat within 6 months!

    ReplyDelete
  7. How many pickling cucumbers do u use?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Enough to fill the gallon jar... I didn't weigh mine when I did them a few years ago as I had 2 or 3 bushel I was working with doing a few different things. Sorry!

      Delete
  8. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments so please let me know what you think!