Saturday, March 13, 2010

Mustard Meatloaf with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

I had a craving for meatloaf but none of my traditional recipes sounded good.  So, I created this new one!

For the meatloaf:
3 lbs lean ground beef
1 medium onion, chopped fine
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbs dried parsley
1 tsp seasoning salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup yellow mustard
4 tbs Worcestershire sauce
2 eggs

Mix everything together.
Shape into a loaf on a large rimmed baking sheet.
Surround with quartered potatoes if desired (they absorb all the flavors).
Bake at 350 for about 1 1/2 hours or until the meatloaf is done and the potatoes are tender.

For the sauce:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup tomato sauce (plain)
1/4 cup ketchup
2 tbs cider vinegar
1 tbs Worcestershire sauce
2 tbs garlic flavored hot sauce
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder

Place everything in a pot and whisk to dissolve the sugar.
Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer.
Simmer until the desired thickness is achieved.
Serve as a sauce on the side with the mustard meatloaf and potatoes or use to glaze the mustard meatloaf by spreading it on the top then placing under the broiler until a slight crust is achieved.

7 comments:

  1. Hey Stephanie, this sounds amazing. I just made a meat loaf the other night. Wish you would have posted this last week, I would have already tried it! Adding to my must try recipe list, thanks for sharing and have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This does sound delicious! I'm going to definitely try it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love making meatloaf and my husband loves it even more! I usually make it like a giant meatloaf, but I love how you add worcestershire sauce to yours!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm scared to try meatloaf again. This sounds good though...

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments so please let me know what you think!